WLAN Management

The five elements of a Cisco wireless network read like an add right of some glossy, it’s here because there might be a question on the test:
Client devices — laptops, phones and
Mobility platform — Composed of lightweight access points (LWAP), wireless lan controller (WLC) and the wireless control system (WCS)
Network unification — WLCs allow for integration into the wired network
Network management — WCS for control and monitoring
Unified advanced services — Catch-all for marketing

There are two types of Cisco wireless implementations, Autonomous and Lightweight. As a networker who has worked on both, LWAP is the way to go. Management is much easier, mobility groups are your friend and because LWAPP is tunnels wireless interactions across the network to the WCS/WLC it makes it much easier to deploy in a split layer environment, L2 and L3 around campus depending upon location and need.

Autonomous APs — Each AP has its own configuration and operates independently. Configuration can be controlled through CiscoWorks WLSE.

LWAPs — Configuration, monitoring and security is centrally controlled through the WLC/WCS. This is the more scalable solution.

Wireless Lan Solution Engine (WLSE)

    Provides basic management of autonomous APs:

  • Configuration
  • Fault and policy monitoring
  • Reporting
  • Firmware upgrades
  • Radio management

Wireless Control System (WCS)

    Provides advanced management of LWAPs:

  • Location services
  • “Self healing” — If you have a WCS you know what this means.
  • Failover between WLCs
  • Monitoring
  • Configuration
  • Firmware upgrades
This entry was posted in Routing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s